2012 Award-Winning Children's Books

Here are the 2012 winners of the American Library Association's children's book awards:

Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal Home Page
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Dead End in Norvelt
2012 Winner

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

2012 Honors

Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai
Breaking Stalin's Nose by Eugene Yelchin



Caldecott Medal

Caldecott Medal Home Page
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

A Ball for Daisy
2012 Winner

A Ball for Daisy written and illustrated by Chris Raschka

2012 Honors

Blackout written and illustrated by John Rocco
Grandpa Green written and illustrated by Lane Smith
Me … Jane written and illustrated by Patrick McDonnell




Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Award Home Page
Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.

The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Heart and Soul
2012 Author Award Winner

Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans by Kadir Nelson

2012 Author Award Honor

The Great Migration: Journey to the North by Eloise Greenfield
Never Forgotten by Patricia C. McKissack




2012 Illustrator Award Winner

Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom, written and illustrated by Shane W. Evans

2012 Illustrator Award Honor

Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans written and illustrated by Kadir Nelson 


Pura Belpré Award

Pura Belpré Award Home Page
The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking, an ALA affiliate.

Under the Mesquite
2012 Author Award Winner

Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall

2012 Author Award Honors

Hurricane Dancers: The First Carribean Pirate Shipwreck by Margarita Engle
Maximilian and the Mystery of the Guardian Angel: A Bilingual Lucha Libre Thriller by Xavier Garza



Diego Rivera
2012 Illustrator Award Winner

Diego Rivera: His World and Ours written and illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh

2012 Illustrator Award Honor

The Cazuela that the Farm Maiden Stirred illustrated by Rafael López, written by Samantha R. Vamos
Marisol McDonald Doesn’t Match /Marisol McDonald no combina illustrated by Sara Palacios, written by Monica Brown




Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Geisel Award Home Page
The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

Tales for Very Picky Eaters
2012 Winner

Tales for Very Picky Eaters written and illustrated by Josh Schneider

2012 Honors

I Broke My Trunk written and illustrated by Mo Willems
I Want My Hat Back written and illustrated by Jon Klassen
See Me Run written and illustrated by Paul Meise


Robert F. Sibert Medal

Robert F. Sibert Medal Home Page
The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois. The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) administers the award.

Balloons Over Broadway
2012 Winner

Balloons over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade by Melissa Sweet

2012 Honors

Black & White: The Confrontation between Reverend Fred L. Shuttlesworth and Eugene ‘Bull’ Connor written by Larry Dane Brimner
Drawing from Memory written and illustrated by Allen Say
The Elephant Scientist written by Caitlin O’Connell and Donna M. Jackson
Witches!: The Absolutely True Tale of Disaster in Salem written and illustrated by Rosalyn Schanzerand

Schneider Family Book Awards

Schneider Family Book Awards Home Page
The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. The book must portray some aspect of living with a disability or that of a friend or family member, whether the disability is physical, mental or emotional.


2012 Winner: Middle school age

close to famous by Joan Bauer
Wonderstruck: A Novel in Words and Pictures by Brian Selznick