2009 Award-Winning Teen Books

National Book Award: Young People's Literature

Each November the National Book Foundation honors an outstanding book in each of the following categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature.

2009 Winner

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose

2009 Finalists

Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman

Stitches by David Small

Lips Touch: Three Times by Laini Taylor

Jumped by Rita Williams-Garcia


Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal Home Page
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

2009 Winner

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Dave McKean

2009 Honors

After Tupac & D Foster by Jacqueline Woodson

Savvy by Ingrid Law

The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom by Margarita Engle

The Underneath by Kathi Appelt, illustrated by David Small


Michael L. Printz Award

Printz Award Home Page
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

2009 Winner

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

2009 Honors

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II, The Kingdom on the Waves by M.T. Anderson

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart 

Nation by Terry Pratchett

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan


Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Award Home Page
Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.

The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

2009 Author Award Winner

We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball written and illustrated by Kadir Nelson

2009 Author Award Honors

Keeping the Night Watch by Hope Anita Smith

The Blacker the Berry by Joyce Carol Thomas

Becoming Billie Holiday by Carole Boston Weatherford



Pura Belpré Award

Pura Belpré Award Home Page
The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking, an ALA affiliate.

2009 Author Award Winner

The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom by Margarita Engle

2009 Author Award Honors

Just In Case illustrated and written by Yuyi Morales

Reaching Out by Francisco Jiménez

The Storyteller’s Candle / La velita de los cuentos written by Lucía González, illustrated by Lulu Delacre



Margaret A. Edwards Award

Margaret A. Edwards Award Home Page
The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.

2009 Winner

Laurie Halse Anderson for Catalyst, Fever 1793, and Speak


Alex Awards

Alex Awards Home Page
The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing.

2009 Winners

City of Thieves by David Benioff

Finding Nouf by Zoë Ferraris

Just After Sunset: Stories by Stephen King

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan

Over and Under by Todd Tucker

Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow

The Dragons of Babel by Michael Swanwick

The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti

The Oxford Project by Stephen G. Bloom

Three Girls and Their Brother by Theresa Rebeck