Due to building maintenance, Cooper Branch is closed until further notice. Beginning Monday, September 24, Cooper customers can pick up their holds at the Montross Branch

2010 Award-Winning Teen Books

National Book Award: Young People's Literature

Each November the National Book Foundation honors an outstanding book in each of the following categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature.

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine
2010 Winner

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

2010 Finalists

Dark Water by Laura McNeal

Lockdown by Walter Dean Myers

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi


Michael L. Printz Award

Printz Award Home Page
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

Going Bovine
2010 Winner

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

2010 Honors

Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

Punkzilla by Adam Rapp

Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes

Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal Home Page
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

When You Reach Me
2010 Winner

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

2010 Honors

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick


Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Award Home Page
Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.

The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal
2010 Author Award Winner

Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson

2010 Author Award Honor

Mare’s War by tanita s. davis



Pura Belpré Award

Pura Belpré Award Home Page
The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking, an ALA affiliate.

Return to Sender
2010 Author Award Winner

Return to Sender by Julia Alvarez

2010 Author Award Honors

Diego: Bigger Than Life by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz

Federico García Lorca by Georgina Lázaro, illustrated by Enrique S. Moreiro




Schneider Family Book Awards

Schneider Family Book Awards Home Page
The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. The book must portray some aspect of living with a disability or that of a friend or family member, whether the disability is physical, mental or emotional.

Marcel in the Real World
2010 Winner: Middle school age

Anything but Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin

2010 Winner: High school age

Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X





Margaret A. Edwards Award

Margaret A. Edwards Award Home Page
The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.

An American Plague
2010 Winner: Jim Murphy

Author of:

An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793

Blizzard! The Storm That Changed America

The Great Fire

The Long Road to Gettysburg

A Young Patriot: The American Revolution as Experienced by One Boy

 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Home Page
2010 is the first year for this award which honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year.

Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith
2010 Winner

Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman

2010 Finalists

Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose

The Great and Only Barnum: The Tremendous, Stupendous Life of Showman P. T. Barnum by Candace Fleming

Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland by Sally M. Walker

Alex Awards

Alex Awards Home Page
The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing.

2010 Winners

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer

The Bride's Farewell by Meg Rosoff

Everything Matters!  by Ron Currie, Jr.

The Good Soldiers by David Finkel

The Kids Are All Right: A Memoir by Diana Welch and Liz Welch with Amanda Welch and Dan Welch

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

My Abandonment by Peter Rock

Soulless: An Alexia Tarabotti Novel by Gail Carriger

Stitches: A Memoir by David Small

Tunneling to the Center of the Earth by Kevin Wilson