2011 Award-Winning Teen Books

Here are the 2011 winners of the American Library Association's young adults book awards:

Michael L. Printz Award

Printz Award Home Page
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

Ship Breaker
2011 Winner

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi 

2011 Honors

Stolen by Lucy Christopher
Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick
Nothing by Janne Teller


Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal Home Page
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Moon Over Manifest
2011 Winner

Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool 

2011 Honors

Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm
Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia



Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Award Home Page
Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.

The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

One Crazy Summer
2011 Author Award Winner

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia 

2011 Author Award Honor 

Lockdown by Walter Dean Myers
Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes
Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty by G. Neri



Pura Belpré Award

Pura Belpré Award Home Page
The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking, an ALA affiliate.

The Dreamer
2011 Author Award Winner

The Dreamer by Pam Muñoz Ryan

2011 Author Award Honors
¡Ole! Flamenco by George Ancona
The Firefly Letters: A Suffragette's Journey to Cuba by Margarita Engle
90 Miles to Havana by Enrique Flores-Galbis



Schneider Family Book Awards

Schneider Family Book Awards Home Page
The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. The book must portray some aspect of living with a disability or that of a friend or family member, whether the disability is physical, mental or emotional.

After Ever After
2011 Winner: Middle school age

After Ever After by Jordan Sonnenblick

2011 Winner: High school age

Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John




Margaret A. Edwards Award

Margaret A. Edwards Award Home Page
The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.

The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents
2011 Winner: Sir Terry Prachett

Author of:
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents
The Wee Free Men
A Hat Full of Sky
Going Postal
The Colour of Magic
Guards! Guards!
Equal Rites
Small Gods

 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Home Page
2010 is the first year for this award which honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year.

Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing
2011 Winner

Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing by Ann Angel

2011 Finalists

They Called Themselves the KKK: The Birth of an American Terrorist Group by Susan Campbell Bartoletti
Spies of Mississippi: The True Story of the Spy Network that Tried to Destroy the Civil Rights Movement by Rick Bowers
The Dark Game: True Spy Stories by Paul Janeczko
Every Bone Tells a Story: Hominin Discoveries, Deductions, and Debates by Jill Rubalcaba and Peter Robertshaw

Alex Awards

Alex Awards Home Page
The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing.

The Boy Who Couldn't Sleep and Never Had To2011 Winners

The Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Never Had To by DC Pierson
Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard by Liz Murray
Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok
The House of Tomorrow by Peter Bognanni
The Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake: A Novel by Aimee Bender
The Radleys by Matt Haig
The Reapers Are the Angels: A Novel by Alden Bell
Room: A Novel by Emma Donoghue
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden: A Novel by Helen Grant