2012 Award-Winning Teen Books

American Library Association Awards:

Here are the 2012 winners of the American Library Association's young adults book awards:

Michael L. Printz Award

Printz Award Home Page
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

Where Things Come Back
2012 Winner

Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

2012 Honors

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler
The Returning by Christine Hinwood
Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater


Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal Home Page
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Dead End in Norvelt
2012 Winner

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

2012 Honors

Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai
Breaking Stalin's Nose by Eugene Yelchin




Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Award Home Page
Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.

The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Heart and Soul
2012 Author Award Winner

Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans by Kadir Nelson

2012 Author Award Honor

The Great Migration: Journey to the North by Eloise Greenfield
Never Forgotten by Patricia C. McKissack



Pura Belpré Award

Pura Belpré Award Home Page
The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking, an ALA affiliate.

Under the Mesquite
2012 Author Award Winner

Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall

2012 Author Award Honors

Hurricane Dancers: The First Carribean Pirate Shipwreck by Margarita Engle
Maximilian and the Mystery of the Guardian Angel: A Bilingual Lucha Libre Thriller by Xavier Garza



Schneider Family Book Awards

Schneider Family Book Awards Home Page
The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. The book must portray some aspect of living with a disability or that of a friend or family member, whether the disability is physical, mental or emotional.

2012 Winners: Middle school age

close to famous by Joan Bauer
Wonderstruck: A Novel in Words and Pictures by Brian Selznick

2012 Winner: High school age

The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen




Margaret A. Edwards Award

Margaret A. Edwards Award Home Page
The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.

Over Sea, Under Stone
2012 Winner: Susan Cooper

Author of The Dark is Rising sequence:
Over Sea, Under Stone
The Dark is Rising
The Grey King
Silver on the Tree


YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Home Page
This award which honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year.

The Notorious Benedict Arnold
2012 Winner

The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism, & Treachery by Steve Sheinkin

2012 Finalists

Sugar Changed the World: A Story of Magic, Spice, Slavery, Freedom and Science by
Marc Aronson and Marina Budhos
Bootleg: Murder, Moonshine, and the Lawless Years of Prohibition by Karen Blumenthal
Wheels of Change: How Women Rode the Bicycle to Freedom (With a Few Flat Tires Along the Way) by Sue Macy
Music Was IT: Young Leonard Bernstein by Susan Goldman Rubin

Alex Awards

Alex Awards Home Page
The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing.

Big Girl Small2012 Winners

Big Girl Small by Rachel DeWoskin
In Zanesville by Jo Ann Beard
The Lover's Dictionary by David Levithan
The New Kids: Big Dreams and Brave Journeys at a High School for Immigrant Teens by Brooke Hauser
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Robopocalypse: A Novel by Daniel H. Wilson
Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward
The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt: A Novel in Pictures by Caroline Preston
The Talk-Funny Girl by Roland Merullo



National Book Award:

Awarded annually by the National Book Foundation

Young People's Literature

Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai
2011 Winner:

Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai

2011 Finalists:

Chime by Franny Billingsley
My Name Is Not Easy by Debby Dahl Edwardson
Flesh & Blood So Cheap: The Triangle Fire and Its Legacy by Albert Marrin
Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt