If you like Perelandra by C.S. Lewis ...

If you liked  “Perelandra," you might find something to enjoy in these titles.

“The Sparrow” by Mary Doria Russell
“Emilio Sandoz, a brilliant Jesuit priest, seems like the perfect leader for the first expedition to an extraterrestrial culture. However, when Sandoz returns to Earth 20 years later as the mission's sole survivor, he is accused of unspeakable violence and depravity. Why? An extraordinary fiction debut, by paleoanthropologist Mary Doria Russell.”--Copyright © Libri GmbH.

“The Left Hand of Darkness” by Ursula K. LeGuin
“… tells the story of a lone human emissary to Winter, an alien world whose inhabitants can change their gender. His goal is to facilitate Winter's inclusion in a growing intergalactic civilization. But to do so he must bridge the gulf between his own views and those of the completely dissimilar culture that he encounters. Embracing the aspects of psychology, society, and human emotion on an alien world, The Left Hand of Darkness stands as a landmark achievement in the annals of intellectual science fiction.”--Copyright © Libri GmbH.

“A Canticle for Leibowitz” by Walter M. Miller, Jr.
“[The novel] opens with the accidental excavation of a holy artifact: a creased, brittle memo scrawled by the hand of the blessed Saint Leibowitz, that reads: "Pound pastrami, can kraut, six bagels--bring home for Emma." To the Brothers of Saint Leibowitz, this sacred shopping list penned by an obscure, 20th-century engineer is a symbol of hope from the distant past, from before the Simplification, the fiery atomic holocaust that plunged the earth into darkness and ignorance. As 1984 cautioned against Stalinism, so 1959's A Canticle for Leibowitz warns of the threat and implications of nuclear annihilation. Following a cloister of monks in their Utah abbey over some six or seven hundred years, the funny but bleak Canticle tackles the sociological and religious implications of the cyclical rise and fall of civilization, questioning whether humanity can hope for more than repeating its own history.”—summary written for Amazon by Paul Hughes
“The Book of the Dun Cow” by Walter Wangerin, Jr.
Walter Wangerin's profound fantasy concerns a time when the sun turned around the earth and the animals could speak, when Chauntecleer the Rooster ruled over a more or less peaceful kingdom. What the animals did not know was that they were the Keepers of Wyrm, monster of evil long imprisoned beneath the earth ... and Wyrm, sub terra, was breaking free.

“A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeleine L’Engle
Meg Murry and her friends become involved with unearthly strangers and a search for Meg's father, who has disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government.

“The Golden Compass” by Philip Pullman
Accompanied by her daemon, Lyra Belacqua leaves Oxford and sets out to prevent her best friend and other kidnapped children from becoming the subjects of gruesome experiments in the Far North. This is Book I of Pullman's "His Dark Materials" trilogy.

“The Dark is Rising” series by Susan Cooper
“Susan Cooper's award-winning fantasy series, "The Dark is Rising," specifically delineates the battle between the forces of good and the forces of evil. In the first of the five books, "Over Sea, Under Stone," three children find an old map that leads them to the Holy Grail of King Arthur. But seizing the Grail from the forces arrayed against them is just the first step in beating back the agents of the Dark. In "The Dark is Rising," the second book, Will Stanton discovers that he is not just an ordinary English boy, but one of the "Old Ones" whose mission is to fight against the Dark. As the books continue, the drama and excitement of the struggle become deeper and more complex, weaving ancient British and Celtic lore into a modern-day setting.”—Caroline Parr

Mary M. Buck
Reference Librarian
Porter Branch