If you like Alanna by Tamora Pierce

You may want to read some other books by Tamora Pierce, if
you haven't already. Here are some other suggestions:


The Edge of the Sword by Rebecca Tingle.

In ninth-century Britain, fifteen-year-old Aethelflaed, daughter of King
Alfred of West Saxony, finds she must assume new responsibilities much
sooner than expected when she is betrothed to Ethelred of Mercia in
order to strengthen a strategic alliance against the Danes.


Bella at Midnight by Diane Stanley.

Raised by peasants, Bella discovers that she is actually the daughter of
a knight and finds herself caught up in a terrible plot that will change
her life and the kingdom forever.


The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice, book 1) by Jonathan Flangan.

When fifteen-year-old Will is rejected by battleschool, he becomes the
reluctant apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, and winds up
protecting the kingdom from danger.


Rowan Hood by Nancy Springer.

In her quest to connect with Robin Hood, the father she has never met,
thirteen-year-old Rosemary disguises herself as a boy, befriends a
half-wolf, half-dog, a runaway princess, and an overgrown boy whose
singing is hypnotic, and makes peace with her elfin heritage.


The Princess and the Hound by Mette Ivie Harrison.

George has always felt burdened by his princely duties, and even more by
the need to hide the magic through which he speaks with animals, but
when he is betrothed to the strange princess of a neighboring kingdom,
his secret, and the persecution of people like himself, must come to an


Sabriel (Abhorsen trilogy, book 1) by Garth Nix.

Sabriel, daughter of the necromancer Abhorsen, must journey into the
mysterious and magical Old Kingdom to rescue her father from the Land of
the Dead.


The Once and Future King by T.H. White.

The series is a retelling of the Arthurian legend, from Arthur's birth
to the end of his reign . This single volume contains four stories -
The quartet comprises The Sword in the Stone (1938), The Queen of Air
and Darkness--first published as The Witch in the Wood (1939)--The
Ill-Made Knight (1940), and The Candle in the Wind (published in the
composite volume, 1958).


The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley.

Even readers who don't normally enjoy Arthurian legends will love this
version, a retelling from the point of view of the women behind the
throne. Morgaine (more commonly known as Morgan Le Fay) and Gwenhwyfar
(a Welsh spelling of Guinevere) struggle for power, using Arthur as a
way to score points and promote their respective worldviews. The Mists
of Avalon's Camelot politics and intrigue take place at a time when
Christianity is taking over the island-nation of Britain; Christianity
vs. Faery, and God vs. Goddess are dominant themes. (description from