All branches will be closed on Sunday, May 27, and Monday, May 28 for Memorial Day. eBooks, eAudio, and eMagazines are available 24/7!

And the crowd went wild!

A thousand librarians and publishers gathered in Denver on Monday to hear the announcement of the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott and other youth media awards. The announcements begin with the newest awards - in this case, the Schneider Family Awards - and build up to the oldest children's book awards, the Newbery and the Caldecott. I was thrilled when Leslie Connor's Waiting for Normal won a Schneider Award (though disappointed that it received no further recognition). When Kadir Nelson's We Are The Ship won a Coretta Scott King honor award for illustration, there were groans of disappointment (it was favored to win), then cheers as the book received the CSK award for text and then won the Sibert Medal for nonfiction. Finally the biggies were announced: The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson and illustrated by Beth Krommes (Caldecott) is a deceptively simple picture book in black, white and yellow, and Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book, already on the New York Times bestseller list, won the Newbery. Cheers filled the hall, as the bloggers and twitterers madly posted the results and their own take on things, and librarians on cell phones conveyed the results to their colleagues at home. Soon we all drifted off into the snowy streets of Denver, ready to start reading all the good books to be published in 2009.