Rappahannock Reads: Station Eleven

Rappahannock Reads is our invitation to everyone in the community to read the same book and engage in library events reflecting on the book’s themes.

This Year's Title | Meet the Author | Winter Reading Challenge Badge |  Related Events | More Arts Vs. Apocalypse

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel



Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel

Our selection this year is Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel.
This audacious, darkly glittering novel about art, fame, and ambition is set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse. One snowy night, a famous Hollywood actor slumps over and dies onstage during a production of King Lear. Hours later, the world as we know it begins to dissolve.

We have Station Eleven available in various formats, including eBook and eAudio.


 



Emily St. John MandelMeet the author: Emily St. John Mandel, Saturday, March 17, 3:00

University Hall on the University of Mary Washington Stafford Campus
121 University Boulevard
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22406

Reception, presentation by the author, question-and-answer session, and book signing.



UMW Libraries


Arts vs. Apocalypse Badge


Winter Reading Challenge MISSION alert!

Earn this badge by completing the Arts Vs. Apocolypse mission in our Adult Winter Reading Challenge program!


 


Arts vs. the Apocalypse: Explorations of the Power of Art, Even During Adversity

Can Masterpiece, Newton Branch, Friday, February 23, 2:00–3:00 
Create an artistic masterpiece with trash. Grade 6–adult.

Shakespeare Video Booth
Film yourself and your friends in our video booth, with props and fun prompts to get you up and acting! Footage will be edited and posted on the library's Facebook and Twitter pages. All ages!

Knot the Apocalypse! Fredericksburg Branch, Saturday, February 24, 10:00–12:00
Worried about survival in a dystopian future? Join Linda and Howard Peck for a hands-on demonstration making rope and cordage, and learn basic knot-tying. Grade 6–adult. Snow date is March 10!

Pandemic Board Game, Newton Branch, Tuesday, February 27, 11:00–12:00
Four diseases have broken out in the world, and it is up to a team of specialists in various fields to find cures before mankind is wiped out. Can you save
the world? Grade 6–adult.

Be Prepared
Learn what supplies you will need for any emergency.

Local Scouts Teach Survival Skills
Montross Branch, Monday, March 5, 6:00-7:00

Garden Savvy: Becoming Self-Sufficient
Montross Branch, Thursday, March 15, 6:00-7:00
Learn to create an easy-care garden that will save you trips to the grocery store. Bring in a soil sample to have tested for pH. Presented by Agriculture and Natural Resources Agent Stephanie Romelczyk.


More Art Vs. the Apocalypse

Check out the read-a-likes for Station Eleven, along with booklists for all ages!