ALA Youth Media Awards 2020

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced the 2020 Youth Media Awards on January 27, 2020, at the American Library Association's Midwinter Meeting. Read about the winning and honored books below.

The John Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution for children published in the past year. In 1922, the Newbery Medal became the first children's book award in the world. Its terms, as well as its long history, continue to make it the best known and most discussed children's book award in this country.

New Kid by Jerry Craft

Seventh-grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds - and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

See current and past Newbery Medal winners and honorees available at CRRL here.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of 19th-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander, with illustrations by Kadir Nelson

Originally performed for ESPN's The Undefeated, this poem is a love letter to black life in the United States. It highlights the unspeakable trauma of slavery; the faith and fire of the Civil Rights Movement; and the grit, passion, and perseverance of some of the world's greatest heroes. The text is also peppered with the words of Martin Luther King, Jr., Langston Hughes, Gwendolyn Brooks, and others, offering deeper insights into the accomplishments of the past, while bringing stark attention to the endurance and spirit of those surviving and thriving in the present.

See current and past Caldecott Medal winners and honorees available at CRRL here.

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2004, is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution for children published in the previous year.

Stop! Bot! by James Yang

When a little boy stops to show a building doorman his new "bot," it floats up out of his hands, and the kind doorman runs up to each floor of the building to try and catch it, with help from the building's residents.

See current and past Seuss Geisel Award winners available at CRRL here.

The Coretta Scott King Author Book Award 

Designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace, the Coretta Scott King Book awards annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience. 

New Kid by Jerry Craft 

Follows seventh-grade cartoon artist Jordan Banks and his struggle to fit in at his upscale private school where he is one of the few children of color in his grade. Also the winner of the Newbery Medal.

See current and past King Author Award winners and honorees available at CRRL here.

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award

The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander, with illustrations by Kadir Nelson

An ode to African American triumph and tribulation, with art from a two-time Caldecott Honoree. Also the winner of the Caldecott Medal.

See current and past King Illustrator Award winners and honorees available at CRRL here.

The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Literature 

The Michael L. Printz Award is given to the author of a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Dig by A.S. King

Five white teenage cousins, who are struggling with the failures and racial ignorance of their dysfunctional parents and their wealthy grandparents, reunite for Easter.

See current and past Printz Award winners and honorees available at CRRL here.

The Pura Belpré Author Award 

The Pura Belpré awards, established in 1996, are presented to Latino/Latina writers and illustrators whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. They are co-sponsored by the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking (REFORMA).

Sal & Gabi Break the Universe by Carlos Hernandez 

In order to heal after his mother's death, Sal learned how to meditate. But no one expected him to be able to take it further and "relax" things into existence. Turns out he can reach into time and space to retrieve things from other universes.

See current and past Pura Belpré Author Award winners available at CRRL here.

Pura Belpré Illustrator Award 

Dancing Hands: How Teresa Carreño Played the Piano for President Lincoln by Margarita Engle, with illustrations by Rafael López 

Looks at the life and accomplishments of Teresa Carreño, one of the most famous pianists who, by age nine, performed for President Abraham Lincoln at the White House.

See current and past Pura Belpré Illustrator Award winners available at CRRL here.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award

The Sibert Award honors the most distinguished informational book published in English in the preceding year for its significant contribution to children’s literature.

Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story by Kevin Noble Maillard

Using illustrations that show the diversity in Native America and spare, poetic text that emphasizes fry bread in terms of provenance, this volume tells the story of a post-colonial food that is a shared tradition for Native American families all across the North American continent. Includes a recipe and an extensive author note that delves into the social ways, foodways, and politics of America's 573 recognized tribes.

See current and past Silbert Informational Book Award winners and honorees available at CRRL here.

The Stonewall Book Awards - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's & Young Adult Literature Award

The Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award is given to children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience.

When Aidan Became A Brother by Kyle Lukoff

Aidan, a transgender boy, experiences complicated emotions as he and his parents prepare for the arrival of a new baby.

See current and past Stonewall Book Award winners and honorees available at CRRL here.

The Alex Awards

Presented annually in the U.S. by the Young Adult Library Services Association to authors of 10 adult books that have special appeal to young adults.

See current and past Alex Award Winners available at CRRL here.