America's Job Bank
Now featuring a ReEmployment Portal which links directly to One-Stop Career Centers, unemployment benefits and health care, state job banks, and places to get education and training. Its Service Locator links to services for older workers, literacy programs, and more. Has sections for military transition, résumés & interviews, and career
exploration. Created by The U.S. Department of Labor
Leading newspapers and corporations post jobs available nationwide. Build an online résumé and take career tests.
Free Lance-Star Employment Advertisements
Updated daily, Monday through Friday, the Free-Lance Star newspaper covers the Rappahannock region. Includes a link to JobFetch.com, "the premier LOCAL recruitment online tool serving Virginia, Maryland, Washington, D.C. and surrounding areas."
A source of non-profit job listings for administrative staff and professional positions nationwide. Requires free registration.
Top 10 Social Sites for Finding a Job
Gather your friends, circle the online wagons, and try this fresh approach to job seeking.
United States Office of Personnel Management: OPM
USA Jobs links to the official site for federal government job listings. It is possible to apply for jobs online with an interactive form. Has a special section for veterans and uniformed service personnel and includes opportunities for summer employment.
Search by job description, location or agency for state positions in a variety of fields. These are state jobs, and many have state benefits. Created by the Department of Human Resource Management. Their Links to Other Resources includes the link to the Virginia Employment Commission.
Here are links to official web sites for local and state government, colleges and universities, businesses and attractions, news, parks, transportation, and other state resources.
- Spotsylvania County
- Stafford County
- Westmoreland County
- Caroline County
- King George County
- Virginia State Legislature
Contact Information for Local Elected Officials
- University of Mary Washington - Four-year state university located in Fredericksburg, Virginia. CRRL patrons may request Mary Washington books via Inter Library Loan.
- NOVA - the Northern Virginia Community College Home Page.
- Germanna Community College serves Orange County as well as the City of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, King George, Madison, Spotsylvania, and Stafford.
Strayer University - Four-year university with campuses in Fredericksburg and the D.C. metropolitan area.
- Fredericksburg regional visitor center
- Fredericksburg Agricultural Fair - Find out what's happening at the Fair!
- Virginia is for Business - Virginia Economic Development Partnership
- Stafford County, Virginia - Stafford Tourism & Economic Development Information
- Stafford Business Exchange - membership-based organization to maintain the highest quality of services and promote professional relationships.
- Spotsylvania, Virginia: Prosperity, Incorporated - Economic development site for the county of Spotsylvania.
- Spotsylvania Preservation Foundation - established to help preserve and protect Spotsylvania County's natural and historic resources.
- Spotsylvania Mall
- Movie Theaters and Showtimes
- Fredericksburg Guidebook - selected listing of area restaurants, attractions, and services.
- Historic Fredericksburg - sponsored by Downtown Retail Marketing, Inc.
- Simply Fredericksburg
- George Washington Birthplace National Monument
- Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania Nat. Military Park
- Fredericksburg Festival of the Arts
- Fredericksburg Regional Chamber of Commerce
Area Museums and Historic Houses
- The Free Lance-Star - award-winning local newspaper
- Stafford County Sun and Potomac News Web site for regional news
- B101.5 FM - local radio station with classic popular music includes community calendar for listening area. Site works best viewed in Internet Explorer.
WFLS - Virginia's best country radio station
Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park
On-line visitor center. Has information on the battles of Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania Court House, Chancellorsville and Wilderness.
Fredericksburg Parks and Recreation
Fredericksburg's parks combine the historic and cultural elements of the town with outdoor fun. Enjoy exercise trails at Alum Springs, the farmers' market and occasional festivals at Hurkamp Park, and boating and fishing at Mott's Run Reservoir. Several parks have playgrounds and picnic shelters.
Activities brochures are available online, and online sign-up is available for some classes.
George Washington Birthplace National Monument
Serenity bests describes this National Park Service property located within an easy drive of the Fredericksburg area on beautiful Popes Creek in Westmoreland County. The 550-acre park offers a reconstruction of a colonial house and a working farm. Knowledgeable costumed interpreters demonstrate skills used to tend an 18th century household. Wildlife is abundant, and you may enjoy their nature trail and picnic area while reveling in history at a bargain price.
Splashdown Waterpark and Waterworks Waterpark
Both water parks in Prince William County offer wet fun for the family. Waterworks has more of a kids’ emphasis and a lower price. Both parks are managed by the Prince William County Parks Authority and feature extras to make your day in the sun more relaxing such as safety staff, lockers, full-service concessions and shade pavilions.
Spotsylvania County Parks and Recreation
Hike and swim the summer away in one of Spotsylvania's great parks. Some parks have fields for football, soccer, baseball, and softball as well as tennis and basketball courts and playgrounds.
Program listings are available online.
Stafford County Parks and Recreation
Find places to fish, swim, picnic and enjoy sports in Stafford County. Their activities brochure is available online.
Virginia State Parks
Links to information on dozens of Virginia parks. A general map shows park locations throughout the state. Includes online brochures on outdoor activities.
Westmoreland County Parks and Recreation
The department offers activities for all ages, from adult basketball and aerobics to Little League baseball, Red Cross babysitting certification, toddler playtime, and quilting. Sign up for special day and weekend tours.
Westmoreland State Park
They've got a new and beautiful beach trail, kayaking for beginners (including instruction!), a swimming pool, fishing and boating, and well-equipped cabins with air-conditioning and heat to rent-- these can be reserved online.
A Guide for Area Commuters - Do you want a kinder, gentler commute? Read this article by CRRL librarian Virginia Johnson about commuting options.
Buses and Trains
- FREDericksburg Regional Transit - Bus service for Fredericksburg and surrounding localities.
- Greyhound Bus Lines - Buses make many local stops and are another way for people to meet their long distance transportation needs. Click here for information on the Fredericksburg bus stop.
Virginia Railway Express- includes timetable, price guides, and other information about the VRE service.
- Bumbrey's Cab 373-6111
Virginia and Hilldrup Taxi 373-8294 or 373-8555
The closest large airports are:
- Area Airports - includes links to Stafford Regional and Shannon Airports, as well as major airports in DC, Baltimore, and Richmond.
Richmond International Airport
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport
Washington Dulles International Airport
Van/Limo Service to DC Airports
According to the University of Mary Washington's Web site, VAN/LIMO service to DC area airports is available for a wide range of prices beginning at $55. Limousine contact numbers include: *ChopChop Shuttle, 703-906-6939; *Stafford Shuttle 286-0093 *Horizon Limo, 703-441-0197; *Fredericksburg Limo Service, 540-899-6150 or 888-318-5529; *Fantasy Limo Service, 800-736-5466.
Are You Registered to Vote?
Here are some resources to help you understand issues, contact your representatives, and exercise your civic muscle.
Candidates and Parties | Voter Registration | Issues & Commentary | Keeping Up with the News | Legislation | Links of Interest
To keep up to date with pending elections, visit the State Board of Elections List of Candidates.
The Green Party of Virginia
Independent Greens of Virginia
Virginia Democratic party
Virginia Libertarian party
Virginia Republican party
Project Vote Smart - Non-partisan Web site providing access to candidate information including past voting records. You can also find more information about party platforms.
Registrars' offices are located in the City of Fredericksburg and the counties of Stafford, Spotsylvania, and Westmoreland. You must register to vote in the county of your residence.
You are eligible to vote if you are a citizen of the United States, a legal resident of Virginia, at least 18 years of age (or you will be by the next general election), and/or have had the right to vote restored subsequent to a felony conviction or adjudication of mental incompetence.
Fredericksburg - Polling places are located at Hugh Mercer Elementary School (Ward 1), the Community Center (Ward 2), Walker-Grant Middle School (Ward 3), and Old Walker-Grant School (Ward 4). Call the Registrar at 372-1030 for more information.
Stafford - Polling places are located throughout the county. Call the Registrar at 658-4000 or visit their Web site.
Spotsylvania - Polling places are located throughout the county. Call the Registrar at 582-7124.
Westmoreland - Polling places are located throughout the county. Call the Registrar at 493-8898 or visit their Web site.
Virginia State Board of Elections - Find the place to register and vote in your locality in Virginia
You can track issues and commentary in the mainstream news or you might use one of these sites to focus on political commentary.
Vist the State Board of Elections to read about proposed amendments or other ballot issues.
Larry J. Sabato's Crystal Ball
Intrigued? The brainchild of UVA Center for Politics director Larry Sabato, the Crystal Ball started off as single pre-election seminars featuring the major presidential, gubernatorial, and Congressional contests from across the nation. The site has quickly grown into one of the most accurate, comprehensive election analysis resources on the web.
A nonprofit, nonpartisan citizen's lobbying organization promoting open, honest, and accountable government. Track contributions, political news, and elections.
OMB Watch is a nonprofit research and advocacy organization dedicated to promoting government accountability and citizen participation in public policy decisions. This mission centers on four main areas: the federal budget; regulatory policy; public access to government information; and policy participation by nonprofit organizations. This page highlights current legislation that might be of interest to you; you can also find voter registration forms, information about candidates, voting records of politicians, and more.
Find a news channel or paper that speaks to your interests. While the "press" is often tauted as the "liberal media," you'll be able to find a range of voices from conservative to something more liberal.
Ubiquitous headline news channel.
Christian Science Monitor
"In an age of corporate conglomerates dominating news media, the Monitor combination of church ownership, a public-service mission, and commitment to covering the world (not to mention the fact that it was founded by a woman shortly after the turn of the century, when US women didn't yet have the vote!) gives the paper a uniquely independent voice in journalism." [from Christian Science Monitor]
Quite the media conglomerate, available on network, cable, and the Web.
The Free Lance-Star
Local paper's coverage of events in the news.
National Public Radio
NPR is an internationally acclaimed producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming. A privately supported, not-for-profit, membership organization, NPR serves more than 750 independently operated, noncommercial public radio stations. Each member station serves local listeners with a distinctive combination of national and local programming." [from NPR]
The New York Times
All the news that's fit to print" is the masthead. Find current U.S. and international news along with Campaign 2004 coverage.
Free registration to read stories from the State's capital.
The Washington Post
The newspaper of the nation's capital, nation, and world.
The Washington Times
The Times bills itself as America's newspaper.
The Federal Register - The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. An opportunity to keep informed about public comment deadlines as well as other public notices of the U.S.
Thomas - Federal legislative information on the Internet. Find out what's being considered in Congress now or in the past, text of public laws and bills, voting records, and more. Check out Introducing Thomas! for help in using the site.
Virginia Code and Laws - State legislative information.
Who's My Legislator? (in Virginia) -- Enter your street address, city, and zip to find out who represents you. Includes a handy email link to send them a message.
Contact Elected Officials (in Congress) -- find out who represents you.
Asia Pacific Islander American Vote - encourages and promotes civic participation of Asian Pacific Islander Americans in the electoral and public policy processes at the national, state and local levels.
Center for Responsive Politics' OpenSecrets - Lists contributions for political candidates beyond the presidential races. Information is drawn from publicly available information filed with the Federal Election Commission.
League of Women Voters - Non-partisan information on democratic process for Virginia. See their DemocracyNet (DNet), an interactive online voter guide with nonpartisan, state-specific election information.
NAACP - Encouraging African-American participation in the democratic process
National Council of La Raza - Encouraging Latino American participation in the democratic process
Virginia State Board of Elections - How Virginians voted in recent elections.
Windows 8 has been a commercial and critical flop. The improvements made in 8.1 brought it more in line with the expectations of long-time Windows users. Overall though, Microsoft did a poor job of transitioning its customers away from an interface that had gone unchanged for 17 years—and a terrible job communicating why they should want to. With the Windows 10 Technical Preview, it looks like Microsoft will be addressing those problems and bringing to the table new functionality that users will actually welcome.
Wi-Fi changed the networked world. Our laptops could finally, truly be operated on our laps independent of a network cable. Wi-Fi has also made computing significantly less secure. It’s not as if relying on a hardwired connection makes you hack-proof, but relying on Wi-Fi alone for all your online needs is dangerous.
Vaccinations can save your life. As we get older, immune systems tend to weaken over time, putting us at higher risk for certain diseases. Older adults are especially vulnerable to certain diseases, such as influenza and pneumonia. There is no better time than the present to follow-up with your doctor and make sure you have all the shots you need. Despite the common misconception, vaccinations are needed throughout your life—not just when you are a child.
A few times every week I’ll have customers approach me after searching our public catalogs and ask, “What does it mean if it says it’s an ‘eBook?'” When I explain, I always take care to emphasize that an eReader, tablet, or smartphone is not required for most of our digital materials in print—all that’s needed is a regular computer with a modern Web browser and active connection.
Thanks to our OverDrive ebook database, you have 24-hour access to a diverse collection of popular titles you can download instantly to your eReader, including the Amazon Kindle and Kindle apps. At the moment, users can have up to four titles checked out at once. The good news is that these eBooks can be returned early when you're finished with them, freeing up a space to your download limit. However, Kindle users may have noticed that Amazon has recently made a subtle change to the manner in which Kindle books are returned early.
In Google Chrome it’s called “Incognito Mode.” Firefox has dubbed it “Private Browsing.” Internet Explorer? “InPrivate Browsing.” This is the browser feature you can use to temporarily disable storage of your browsing history, text field inputs (such as usernames and passwords, not to mention searches), and cookies. These modes are great for keeping secrets from others using the same computer, but they won’t hide anything from the rest of the Web. What I'm offering will.