Monthly Highlights

Kids Blog

Thu, 09/17/2015 - 10:15am

Did you know that Halloween is one of the world’s oldest holidays? It has gone through many changes, but was originally a Celtic festival called Samhain (pronounced sow-in), marking the end of harvest and the beginning of the new year (November 1st). The druids believed that ghosts and spirits roamed the earth at this time, and they lit bonfires as protection.

Fri, 09/04/2009 - 1:46pm

Welcome to the Library's new Web site for kids! has much of the same great content as had, as well as blogs just for kids. We have more interactive features in the works! On our blogs we will be posting about great new books for kids, as well as fun things to do, free library programs, and much more.

Thu, 09/03/2009 - 4:48pm

Percy Jackson is not a normal 12-year-old. Strange things always seem to happen around him, and he has a problem with getting into situations that lead to getting kicked out of school. Things get even stranger when, on a class field trip, Percy vaporizes his (really creepy) math teacher (a monster in disguise) and learns that he himself is a demigod. A whole new world is opened to Percy when he goes for the summer to Camp Half-Blood, where he meets other demigod friends and finds out his father's identity. Of course, he immediately gets plunged into a quest to save the world.

Thu, 09/03/2009 - 12:40pm

Friday, September 4 - Thursday, September 10 (Library closed Sunday, September 6, and Monday, September 7)
Friday, October 2 - Thursday, October 8

Salem Church:
Friday, September 18 – Thursday, September 24
Friday, October 16 – Thursday, October 22


October 17–21, 2009: Fall BIG Book Sale

See more book sale dates.