The Porter Branch Children’s Department will be closed January 22-February 12 for renovation.

Porter Branch will be closed February 3 for installation of the new shelving.

All branches will be closed Monday, January 20, for Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

Booklists for UMW’s Great Lives Lecture Series

Booklists for UMW's Great Lives Lecture Series

This William B. Crawley Great Lives Lecture Series is open to the public free of charge and no admission tickets are required.

CRRL librarians have hand-pick titles to accompany each lecture.

All programs begin at 7:30 pm in Dodd Auditorium in George Washington Hall.

University of Mary Washington

January

Ronald Reagan

Ronald Reagan

Tuesday, January 21. Lecture by Craig Shirley, author of "Rendezvous with Destiny: Ronald Reagan & the Campaign that Changed America"

Tiger Woods

Tiger Woods

Thursday, January 23. Lecture by Jeff Benedict, author of the 2018 biography "Tiger Woods"

D-Day Girls

D-Day Girls

Tuesday, January 28. Lecture by Sarah Rose, author of "D-Day Girls: The Spies Who Armed the Resistance"

JFK/James Bond

JFK/James Bond

Thursday, January 30. Lectured by Stephen Watts, author of "JFK and the Masculine Mystique: Sex and Power on the New Frontier"

February

Francis Gary Powers

Francis Gary Powers

Tuesday, February 4. Lecture by Francis Gary Powers, Jr., his son, and author of "Spy Pilot: Francis Gary Powers, the U-2 Incident, and..."

The Beach Boys

The Beach Boys

Thursday, February 6. Lecture by Peter Ames Carlin, author of "Catch A Wave: The Rise, Fall, & Redemption of the Beach Boys' Brian Wilson."

Dr. Seuss

Dr. Seuss

Tuesday, February 11. Lecture by Brian Jay Jones, author of "Theodor Geisel and the Making of an American Imagination"

John and John Quincy Adams

John and John Quincy Adams

Thursday, February 13. Lectured by the authors of "The Problem of Democracy: The Presidents Adams Confront the Cult of Personality"

Stephen Hawking

Stephen Hawking

Tuesday, February 18. Lecture by Kitty Ferguson, author of "Stephen Hawking: An Unfettered Mind"

American Duelists

American Duelists

Thursday, February 20. Lecture by Joanne Freeman, author of "The Field of Blood: Congressional Violence in Antebellum America"

Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass

Thursday, February 27. Lecture by David W. Blight, author of "Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom".

March

Female Internet Inventors

Female Internet Inventors

Tuesday, March 10. Lecture by Claire Evans, author of "Broad Band: The Untold Story of the Women Who Made the Internet".

C.S. Lewis

C.S. Lewis

Thursday, March 12. Lecture by Devin Brown, author of "A Life Observed: A Spiritual Biography of C.S. Lewis".

America’s Notorious Pirates

America's Notorious Pirates

Thursday, March 19. Lecture by Eric Jay Dolin, author of "Black Flags, Blue Waters: The Epic History of America's Most Notorious Pirates"

Karl Marx

Karl Marx

Tuesday, March 24. Lecture by Jonathan Sperber, author of "Karl Marx: A Nineteenth-Century Life"

Hedy Lamarr

Hedy Lamarr

Tuesday, March 31. Lecture by Stephen Michael Shearer, author of "Beautiful: The Life of Hedy Lamarr"

April

Nikita Khrushchev

Nikita Khrushchev

Tuesday, April 7. Lecture by William Taubman, author of "Khrushchev: The Man and His Era".

Pioneer Female Aviators

Pioneer Female Aviators

Tuesday, April 14. Lecture by Keith O'Brien, author of "Fly Girls: How Five Daring Women Defied All Odds and Made Aviation History"
Back to Top