If you like Shrill: Notes From A Loud Woman

Shrill: Notes From A Loud Woman: GQ culture writer Lindy West's essay collection addresses topics such as fantasy literature, fat acceptance, and being a woman on the Internet with sometimes bittersweet, frequently hilarious results-step five of "How To Stop Being Shy in Eighteen Steps" involves joining a choir with "uniforms that look like menopausal genie costumes.

 

Shrill is an American comedy web television series on Hulu, based on the book. Shrill follows "Annie, described as a fat young woman who wants to change her life - but not her body." Kelly Lawler from USA Today gave the series a positive review, calling it an "unflinchingly authentic depiction of a fat woman in the modern world," and acknowledging that it "flies past positivity and shoots for fat acceptance". Aidy Bryant from Saturday Night Live stars as Annie.

With a six-episode first season, Shrill will leave you wanting more. So until a second season comes along, here's a list of Shrill read-alikes to read in the meantime. 


The power of radical self-love against a global backdrop of war, social upheaval, and personal despair there is a growing sense of urgency to challenge the systems of oppression. Rather than feel helpless in the face of oppression, world-renowned activist, performance poet, and author Sonya Renee Taylor teaches us how to turn to the power of radical self-love in her book.


In Feminasty, author Erin Gibson has written a collection of make-you-laugh-until-you-cry essays that expose the hidden rules that make life as a woman unnecessarily hard and deconstructs them in a way that's bold, provocative and hilarious.


In this intimate and searing memoir, bestselling author Roxane Gay addresses the experience of living in a body that she calls "wildly undisciplined". She casts an insightful and critical eye over her childhood, teens, and twenties - including the devastating act of violence that was a turning point in her young life - and brings readers into the present and the realities, pains, and joys of her daily life.


Samantha Irby exploded onto the printed page with this debut collection of essays about trying to laugh her way through failed relationships, taco feasts, bouts with Crohn's disease, and more.


Growing up as a fat girl, Virgie Tovar believed that her body was something to be fixed. But after two decades of dieting and constant guilt, she was over it - and gave herself the freedom to trust her own body again. In concise and candid language, she delves into unlearning fatphobia, dismantling sexist notions of fashion, and how to reject diet culture's greatest lie: that fat people need to wait before beginning their best lives.

View more suggestions for Shrill: Notes From A Loud Woman