If you like A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

After the sudden death of their parents, the three Baudelaire children must depend on each other and their wits when it turns out that the distant relative who is appointed their guardian is determined to use any means necessary to get their fortune. There are 13 books in the series, with The Bad Beginning being the first.

The Bad Beginning

The TV ShowA Series of Unfortunate Events is an American black comedy-drama television series from Netflix. It stars Neil Patrick HarrisPatrick WarburtonMalina WeissmanLouis HynesK. Todd Freeman, and Presley Smith. The first season, premiered on January 13, 2017, and consisted of eight episodes which adapted the first four books of the series. The series was renewed for a second season in March 2017, intended to consist of ten episodes that adapt books five through nine of the novel series, and was renewed for a third season a month later, which is expected to adopt the remaining four books. The second season was released March 30, 2018. In 2019, books 10-13 will be adapted for a final season.

If you enjoy Lemony Snicket's dark comedies, check out these other similar titles involving villainous antics and brave orphans.

Presents a collection of correspondence between the elusive Lemony Snicket and the mysterious Beatrice.

Happy to be adopted, at last, twelve-year-old orphan Mary Hayes soon learns a terrifying secret about her new mother, the mysterious Madame Z.

Anastasia, nearly eleven, is snatched from her elementary school and sent to live at a former insane asylum with two great-aunts she had never met after being told that her parents died in a tragic vacuum cleaner accident.

After passing a series of mind-bending tests, four children are selected for a secret mission that requires them to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules.

Thirteen-year-old Lemony Snicket begins his apprenticeship with S. Theodora Markson of the secretive V.F.D. in the tiny dot of a town called Stain'd By The Sea, where he helps investigate the theft of a statue.

In this tongue-in-cheek take on classic themes in children's literature, the four Willoughby children set about to become "deserving orphans" after their neglectful parents embark on a treacherous around-the-world adventure, leaving them in the care of an odious nanny.

When her parents leave Willoughby Chase for a sea voyage, Bonnie and her cousin Sylvia are left in the cruel care of Miss Slighcarp. Together with Simon the Gooseboy, they make a daring escape, but they must find a way to wrest Willoughby Chase from Miss Slighcarp's evil clutches.

See more suggested titles for A Series of Unfortunate Events.